Weekly US News Round-Up (20/7/2012)

Even though we love our Stateside friends, our main goal here at Already Heard is to showcase and highlight the best in established and emerging UK bands.

As a result of this, each week we will be bringing you a concise round-up of news from America.

Nevertheless we will continue to work with bands from overseas in a variety of other ways; reviews, interviews, live photos, acoustic sessions, features and more.

If you have any news to contribute to future US News Round-Up’s, e-mail us at [email protected].

The Gaslight Anthem’s new album ‘Handwritten’ can be streamed here. Whilst a video for the title track has also been released.

Green Day have premièred their new single ‘Oh Love’.

Thrice will release a live collection called ‘Anthology’ through Staple Records/Workhorse Music Group in October. The live recording will be available digitally, on two CDs, and as a limited edition box set containing four LP’s. The CD and LP packages will contain booklets featuring extensive live photos from the tour as well.

Death Cab For Cutie‘s Ben Gibbard is releasing a solo album titled ‘Former Lives’ on October 15th in the UK/Europe via City Slang and October 16th in North America via Barsuk

Diamond have changed their name to Diamond Youth and will be recording new material with Brian McTernan. In addition their new video for ‘Summer’ can be seen here.

The Motel Life’s new EP ‘Those Bruises’ can be streamed here.

An acoustic performance of Yellowcard’s ‘Southern Air’ can be viewed here.

Propagandhi have announced they will release their new album Failed States’ on September 4th through Epitaph Records. The title track can be heard here.

The Acacia Strain will release their new album ‘Death Is The Only Mortal’ on October 9th via Rise Records.

The Starting Line will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of ’Say It Like You Mean It’ with a US tour.

Count Your Lucky Stars will be releasing 4-way split featuring Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate), Mountains For Clouds, Two Knights and Driving on City Sidewalks.

Blaqk Audio have announced their new album is called ‘Bright Black Heaven’ and is due to for release on September 11th through Big Death/Superball Music.

01. Cold War
02. Fade To White
03. Faith Healer
04. Deconstructing Gods
05. Everybody’s Friends
06. Let’s Be Honest
07. With Your Arms Around You
08. Bliss
09. Bon Voyeurs
10. The Witness
11. Say Red
12. Ill-Lit Ships

Transit are streaming the reissue version of ‘Listen & Forgive’.

North Korea (featuring former members of Envy On The Coast) have signed with Triple Crown Records. The band are currently recording their début full-length with Mike Sapone (Brand New, O’Brother, Sainthood Reps) and will be released in the winter.

Brick + Mortar have released their new video for ‘Bangs.’

Watch Cartel perform a stripped-back version of ‘Lessons In Love’ in Manchester.

Eyes Set To Kill have signed to Century Media Records.

Obey The Brave will be releasing a four-part documentary, leading up to the release of their new album ‘Young Blood’ (released August 27th through Epitaph). A trailer can be viewed here.

Sick/Sea have announced their new EP will be titled ‘Moral Compass’ and is due for release on October 16th via Autumn + Colour Records.

Austin, TX’s Again For The Win have signed to Deep Elm Records. Deep Elm will simultaneously release their new 10 track album ‘We’ve Been Here Forever’ and re-release their début ‘Bonus Deluxe Version’ worldwide on August 8th.

Scum Of the Earth have posted a lyric video for ‘The Devil Made Me Do It III’.

InVogue Records has signed Canadian post hardcore band Shreddy Krueger (ex- Secret And Whisper). A new EP called ‘Curses’ will be released on August 21st.

PS I Love You’s new video for ‘Toronto’ can be seen here.

Miggs will release their new album ’15th & Hope’ on September 11th via the Elm City Music label.

Leave a Reply